Individual and Chapter Awards


Chapter Life Membership may be conferred on a member to recognize outstanding accomplishments and contributions to the Chapter. When a HFMA member retires, the member's Chapter may recommend Chapter Life Membership. The Chapter must provide National HFMA with a letter describing the member's accomplishments. If approved by the National Board of Directors, a Chapter Life Membership certificate is issued. If you receive Chapter Life Membership, all further Membership dues are waived.



Chairperson - Katie Taylor

 The Founders Committee maintains the Founders' Merit Award history record for each member.

HFMA has created the four stage Founders' Merit Award series to recognize members who make outstanding contributions to the operation of their Chapters. A member earns each award by accumulating points for service to the Chapter. Full details on the awards, including the point system and scoring methodology, are contained in the Founders' Merit Award Handbook available to every HFMA member. The four stages of the award series are:

  1. The William G. Follmer Award

    When a member earns 25 (formerly 100) points, the William G. Follmer Award, also known as the Bronze award, is presented.

    William G. Follmer was born in Montoursville, Pennsylvania. His family moved to Rochester, New York, where he attended grade and high schools. His later education included extension courses in office management, and general accounting.

    In 1943, he was employed by the Rochester Hospital Council as accounting consultant, a position he held until 1948 when he accepted a similar position with the Hospital Association of Pennsylvania in Harrisburg.

    Follmer then accepted a position with the General State Authority. While returning to Harrisburg on December 21, 1950, from a field assignment, Follmer met a sudden death on an icy highway near Wind Gap, Pennsylvania.

    Bill Follmer created the American Association of Hospital Accountants now (HFMA). Others could have done it before Bill took the initiative, but the simple fact is that he did it.

  2. The Robert H. Reeves Award

    When a second 50 (formerly 200) points is earned by a member, the Robert H. Reeves Award, also known as the Silver Award, is presented.

    Robert H. Reeves worked with William G. Follmer from 1944 to 1946 in organizing and forming the Association. He was a member of the organizing committee of AAHA in 1946 and chairman of the Association's first nominating committee. In 1956, he assumed the presidency of AAHA.

    He served as associate editor of Hospital Accounting, now Healthcare Financial Management, from February 1950 to 1953, and edited the Question Box feature from September 1949 to 1954.

    In 1955, he chaired the Bylaws Committee which implemented recommendations of the AAHA Committee on Structure and Program. As President, he appointed the first Board of Examiners for the Fellowship examination in 1956.

    Reeves also created an annual chapter competition with an award to be named after Graham L. Davis and obtained Davis' permission to name the award after him. In addition, he conceived the William G. Follmer Merit Award and was the moving force behind its installation.

    Over the years, Reeves helped form a number of association chapters; served on the faculty of several Annual National Institutes; lectured and taught throughout the nation; and wrote many articles published in hospital publications.

    A Fellow, class of 1960, Reeves worked as a consultant in hospital accounting and financial management until his death in April 1984, at the age of 84.

  3. The Frederick T. Muncie Award

    Members who earn a third 100 (formerly 300) points are presented with the Frederick T. Muncie Award, also referred to as the Gold Award.

    One of the organizing members of the American Association of Hospital Accountants (now HFMA), Frederick T. Muncie was unanimously elected its first president, serving from 1947 - 1949. A native of Indiana, Muncie studied accounting and law and received his CPA certificate from the State of Indiana in 1942. He worked in industrial accounting and in public accounting with one of the larger public accounting firms in Chicago until 1929 when he became Controller of St. Luke's Hospital in Chicago.

    During the 17 years that he was Controller at St. Luke's, Muncie became intensely interested in hospital accounting as a specialty and developed an accounting system which brought accountants from all parts of the country to Chicago to confer with him. Although his duties as President of the Association kept Muncie exceptionally busy, he found time to help Chicago area hospital accountants organize the first AAHA chapter, First Illinois. He was able to watch this chapter grow to be one of the largest in the Association.

    He contributed a great deal of effort to the annual institute at Indiana University in 1949 and the clinic and workshop at Indiana University in 1950, serving as Chairman and Co-Chairman of these sessions. He continued working for the development and refinement of hospital accounting and financial management until his death.

  4. The Founders' Medal of Honor

    The Founders' Medal of Honor is awarded by nomination of the Chapter Board of Directors rather than the point system. A member must have a minimum of three years of service since receiving the Muncie Gold Award, provide significant service at the Chapter and/or National level in at least two of those years and be a member in good standing to be eligible.